EAST MARSHALL COMMUNITY SCHOOL

Special Meeting
December 21, 2019

The Board for the East Marshall Community School District met in a Special Meeting on 12/21/19 at the East Marshall Middle School in Gilman at 8:30 a.m. Members Present: Craig Mommer, Elizabeth Crandon, Terri Hungerford, Ann Dee Bloom, Andrea Terrones. Members Absent: None. Also present: Superintendent Anthony Ryan, Business Manager/Board Secretary Riley Myers, Principal Matt Rasmusson, Drew Bracken from Ahlers & Cooney, and four guests of the public.

Chairman Mommer called the special meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. Board Secretary Riley Myers took roll call to determine a quorum for the meeting. Members Present: Craig Mommer, Elizabeth Crandon, Terri Hungerford, Ann Dee Bloom, Andrea Terrones. Members Absent: None.

APPROVE AGENDA: Motion by Hungerford, second by Terrones to approve the agenda. Ayes: Mommer, Crandon, Hungerford, Bloom, Terrones. Nays: None.

CLOSED SESSION PURSUANT TO IOWA CODE 21.5(1)(E)-HEARING CONCERNING DISCIPLINE OF STUDENT: Motion by Crandon, second by Hungerford to hold a closed session as provided in section 21.5(1)(e) of the open meetings law to conduct a hearing to suspend or expel a student. Roll Call Vote: Mommer-Aye, Crandon-Aye, Hungerford-Aye, Bloom-Aye, Terrones-Aye. The closed session began at 8:31 a.m.

Motion by Crandon, second by Bloom to exit closed session at 10:03 a.m. Roll Call Vote: Mommer-Aye, Crandon-Aye, Hungerford-Aye, Bloom-Aye, Terrones-Aye.

RECOMMENDED DISCIPLINE OF STUDENT: Motion was made by Crandon, second by Terrones to recommend that the student who was the subject of the disciplinary hearing be expelled from attendance on the East Marshall Community School District and any school activities for the remainder of the first semester of the 2019-2020 school year. Upon the completion of the expulsion period, student can open enroll to another district. Another hearing needed if student would desire to come back to East Marshall after the 2nd semester of the 2019-2020 school year. Substance abuse evaluation should be completed with the release to administration. Roll Call Vote: Mommer-Aye, Crandon-Aye, Hungerford-Aye, Bloom-Aye, Terrones-Aye.

Motion by Crandon, second by Terrones to take a recess at 10:06 a.m. Ayes: Mommer, Crandon, Hungerford, Bloom, Terrones. Nays: None. The motion carried.

Motion by Bloom, second by Hungerford to enter back into regular session from recess at 10:16 a.m. Ayes: Mommer, Crandon, Hungerford, Bloom, Terrones. Nays: None. The motion carried.

CONSENT AGENDA: Mr. Ryan presented the following consent agenda items to the Board: 5A) Approve bills, invoices, and financial statements as presented; 5B.a.) Approve the following resignations for Peggy Hobbs as Middle School Associate effective 12/3/19, David Chubb as Assistant High School Baseball Coach, Angela Damman as Elementary Cook effective 12/20/19, Breanne Brummel as High School Associate effective 1/10/20; 5B.c.) Approve the following contract for Angela Damman as High School Library Associate (80%) with Activities Director Secretary (20%) duties at \$9.70 per hour for High School Library Associate and \$12.60 per hour as Activities Director Secretary.

Motion by Terrones, second by Hungerford to approve the consent agenda as presented. Ayes: Mommer, Crandon, Hungerford, Bloom, Terrones. Nays: None. The motion carried.

APPROVE SBRC RESOLUTION ON MODIFIED SUPPLEMENTAL AID/AMOUNT APPLICATION FOR THE DROPOUT PREVENTION PROGRAM: Motion by Bloom, second by Hungerford to approve the SBRC resolution on Modified Supplemental Aid/ the Dropout Prevention Program amount request for \$209,976. Ayes: Mommer, Crandon, Hungerford, Bloom, Terrones. Nays: None. The motion carried.

presented to the Board a comparison of IPSIP and EMC. Mr. Denham was present to give more details of the IPSIP program since he was on the Board for a couple of years. Mr. Ryan explained that the increase from FY18 to FY19 was substantial and another increase was expected for FY20. Mr. Denham explained that with the withdrawal from IPSIP, the possible consequences of the IPSIP surplus earmarked to East Marshall. Mr. Denham also stated that with the withdrawal from IPSIP, the school would have to reapply to get back into the IPSIP program with the possibility of the application getting rejected.

APPROVE RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE NOTICE OF IPSIP NON-RENEWAL: Director Elizabeth Crandon introduced the following Resolution and moved its adoption. Director AnnDee Bloom seconded the motion to adopt. The roll was called and the vote was: Ayes: Elizabeth Crandon, AnnDee Bloom, Terri Hungerford, Andrea Terrones, Craig Mommer. Nays: None

The President declared the Resolution adopted as follows: RESOLUTION moving that the East Marshall Community School District withdraw from the Iowa Public School Insurance Program (IPSIP) effective July 1, 2020, and authorize Superintendent Anthony Ryan to provide a Notice of Withdrawal to the Administrator or Chairperson of the Cooperative.

APPROVE TO SEEK ENROLLMENT WITH EMC/JESTER FOR DISTRICT LIABILITY INSURANCE: Motion by Terrones, second by Bloom to approve to seek enrollment with EMC/Jester for District liability insurance. Ayes: Mommer, Crandon, Hungerford, Bloom, Terrones. Nays: None. The motion carried.

DISCUSS AND APPROVE FEBRUARY REGULAR BOARD MEETING DATE: Mr. Ryan explained to the Board that there is a first round post season game for the boys basketball team that night. Motion by Terrones, second by Hungerford to move the February regular board meeting date to Wednesday, February 19th at 6:30 p.m. Ayes: Mommer, Crandon, Hungerford, Bloom, Terrones. Nays: None. The motion carried.

ADJOURN: Motion by Crandon, second by Hui	ngeriord to adjourn the meeting at 11:39 a.m. Carried unanimously
Attest: Riley Myers, Board Secretary	
Riley Myers Roard Secretary	Craig Mommer Board President